The Fighting Cocks - A Gem of a Pub!

There has been a Pub on this site since 1750. It was originally called the ‘Fox and Dogs’ and was developed out of a village inn known as The Red Lion.

History of The Fighting Cocks

The 'Fighting Cocks' was first built in 1778 and was rebuilt by Holt's Brewery as a large hotel with grounds in 1860.

The name ‘Fighting Cocks’ derives from the use of the building for cock fighting, often carried out on Boxing Day. The practice was made illegal in 1835.

The present building is built in terracotta brick and stone and was designed by Newton and Cheadle. The exterior is heavily influenced by the Glaswegian architect Charles Rennie Mackintosh.

The Tower on the corner containing a large clock and weather vane rises to a height of 72 ft.

An anemometer and a barometer inside the dome formerly transmitted weather information to dials on the corner of the building at street level (still surviving today). The interior was spectacular with a tiled public bar, a billiard room and two walnut panelled smoke rooms. Much of this was lost in a 1980s refurbishment but the tiled public bar and two painted panels of local scenes (including one showing the previous pub building) have fortunately survived until the present day.

There appears to be the remains of a brewhouse in the garden behind the pub.

In the 19th century, the Fighting Cocks was a superior meeting place for the gentry whilst the Bulls Head was regarded as a no-frills ale house for working villagers.



Project dates

21 Mar 2021 - On-going


History & heritage, Food & drink


(for further information)

Admin FreeTimePays

0121 410 5520